Puerto Rico


Puerto Rico flag


Name: Commonwealth of Puerto Rico

Status: Unincorporated territory

Capital: San Juan

Continent: North America

Official languages: Spanish, English

Religion: Christianity (Catholicism, Protestantism)

Motto: Joannes est nomen ejus (Latin: John is his name)

Government: Commonwealth within the United States

Population: 3 337 177 (2017)

Demonym: Puerto Rican (formal); American (since 2017); Boricua (colloquial)

Currency: United States dollar (USD)

Drives on the right

Time zone: UTC –4:00 (Summer DST)

Calling code: +1 787, +1 939

Internet TLD: .pr

Neighbouring countries: None


Puerto Rico on the Globe


Puerto Rico (Spanish for 'rich port'), officially the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, is an unincorporated territory of the United States located in the northeast Caribbean Sea, approximately 1,600 km southeast of Miami, Florida. An archipelago among the Greater Antilles, Puerto Rico includes the main island of Puerto Rico and a number of smaller ones.

Puerto Rico's official languages are Spanish and English, though Spanish predominates. The island's population is approximately 3.4 million. San Juan is the capital and the most populous city. The cost of living in Puerto Rico is high and has increased over the past decade. San Juan's, in particular, is higher than Atlanta, Dallas, and Seattle but lower than Boston, Chicago, and New York City. Many Puerto Rican artists have gained fame internationally; among them, Ricky MartinMarc Anthony, and Luis Fonsi.

Puerto Ricans are by law citizens of the United States and may move freely between the island and the mainland. As it is not a state, Puerto Rico does not have a vote in the United States Congress, which governs the territory with full jurisdiction under the Puerto Rico Federal Relations Act of 1950. However, Puerto Rico has one non-voting member of the House called a Resident Commissioner. As residents of a US territory, American citizens in Puerto Rico do not vote for president and vice president of the United States and do not pay federal income tax on Puerto Rican income. Like other territories and the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico does not have US senators. Congress approved a local constitution in 1952, allowing US citizens on the territory to elect a governor.

A 2012 referendum showed that a majority (54% of those who voted) disagreed with 'the present form of territorial status'.

A fifth referendum was held on 11th June 2017, with 'Statehood', 'Independence/Free Association', or 'current territorial status' as the available choices. The referendum showed overwhelming support for statehood, with 97.18% voting for it.

Puerto Rico's history, tropical climate, natural scenery, traditional cuisine, and tax incentives make it a destination for travellers from around the world.


Treble clef heart

'La Borinqueña' is the territorial anthem of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. The title refers to the aboriginal Taíno name for the island of Puerto Rico, Borinkén or Borinquén. After Puerto Rico became The Commonwealth of Puerto Rico in 1952, the first elected governor, Luis Muñoz Marín, signed law No2 of 24 July 1952 that stated that the musical composition known as 'La Borinqueña' was to become the official national anthem of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. The words that go with the composition were approved by governor Carlos Romero Carceló on 27 July 1977.