Pitcairn Islands


Pitcairn Islands flag


Name: Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islansa

Capital: Adamstown

Continent: Oceania

Official languages: English, Pitcairnese

Religion: Christianity (Protestantism)

Government: Dependency with a directly elected mayoralty under a constitutional monarchy

Population: 50 (2018)

Demonym: Pitcairn Islander

Currency: New Zealand dollar (NZD)

Time zone: UTC –8:00

Calling code: +64

Internet TLD: .pn

Neighbouring countries: None


Pitcairn Islands on the Globe


The Pitcairn Islands (Pitkern: Pitkern Ailen), officially Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands, are a group of four volcanic islands in the southern Pacific Ocean that form the sole British Overseas Territory in the South Pacific. The four islands – Pitcairn proper, Henderson, Ducie, and Oeno – are scattered across several hundred miles of ocean and have a combined land area of about 47 square km.

Henderson Island accounts for 86% of the land area, but only Pitcairn Island is inhabited. Pitcairn is the least populous national jurisdiction in the world. The Pitcairn Islanders are biracial ethnic group, descended mostly from nine Bounty mutineers and the handful of Tahitians who accompanied them, an event that has been retold in many books and films. This history is still apparent in the surnames of many of the Islanders. Today there are about 50 permanent inhabitants, originating from four main families.


Treble clef heart

'Come Ye Blessed' is one of the two territorial songs of the Pitcairn Islands, the other being 'We're from Pitcairn Island'. 'Come Ye Blessed', composed by John Prindle Scott, is also the official territorial song of Norfolk Island and it is sung at most island events. 'God Save the Queen' is the Pitcairn Islands' official national and royal anthem.