Papua New Guinea


Flag of Papua New Guinea waving


Country: Papua New Guinea (OfficiallyIndependent State of Papua New Guinea)

Georgian transcript: პაპუა-ახალი გვინეა

Capital and largest city: Port Moresby (პორტ-მორზბი)

Continent: Oceania

Official languages: English, Hiti Motu, PNG, Sign Language, Tok Pisin

Indigenous languages: 851 languages

Religion: Christianity (95.5%)

Motto: Unity in diversity

Government: Unitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy

Independence: 1 July 1949 (from Australia)

Member of the Commonwealth of Nations: 1975

Population: 9 130 760 (2021)

Demonym: Papua New Guinean

Currency: Kina (PGK)

Driving side: left

Time zone: UTC +10:00, +11:00 (AEST)

Calling code: +675

Internet TLD: .pg

Website: Government of Papua New Guinea

Neighbouring countries: None


Papua New Guinea on the world map