Nicaragua flag waving


Country: Republic of Nicaragua (SpanishRepública de Nicaragua)

Georgian transcript: ნიკარაგუა

Capital and largest city: Managua (მანაგუა)

Continent: North America

Official language: Spanish

Recognised regional languages: English, Miskito, Rama, Sumo, Miskito Coast Creole, Garifuna, Rama Cay Creole

Religion: Christianity (84.4%, including Roman Catholic Christianity 55%, Protestantism 27.2%, Other Christian congregations 2.2%)

Patron saint: Saint James the Greater (Latin: Iacobus Maximus; died 44 AD)

Motto: En Dios confiamos (Spanish: In God we trust)

Government: Unitary dominant-party presidential constitutional republic

Independence: 15 September 1821 (from Spain, Mexico, and the Federal Republic of Central America)

Population: 6 707 735 (2021)

Demonym: Nicaraguan

Currency: Córdoba (NIO) (1 კორდობა = 100 ცენტავო)

Driving side: right

Time zone: UTC -6:00 (CST)

Calling code: +505

Internet TLD: .ni

Website: Government of Nicaragua

Neighbouring countries: Costa Rica, Honduras


Nicaragua world map



On 3 September 2008, Nicaraguan President Daniel Ortega who spoke at a rally on the occasion of the 29th anniversary of establishing the Sandinista armed forces, announced that his government recognised the independence of two regions of Georgia – Abkhazia and the Tskhinvali Region (also known as Samachablo, and recently publicised as South Ossetia) – and he expressed full consent with Russia’s position.

On 5 September 2008, President Ortega issued official decrees on recognising the independence of both regions. Those documents officially recognised Abkhazia and South Ossetia as 'members of the community of the world’s independent states'. Pursuant to the constitution, the decrees by the Nicaraguan President are final official acts of recognising state independence and do not require approval of the Nicaraguan parliament.

A joint statement on establishing diplomatic relations between Nicaragua and the breakaway Republic of Abkhazia was adopted on 10 September 2009, and same was done between Nicaragua and the disputed South Ossetia Region on 14 April 2010.

These two de facto states in the South Caucasus are recognised by most countries (excluding Russia, Syria, Nicaragua, Venezuela, Nauru) as part of Georgia.