New Zealand



New Zealand flag waving


Country: New Zealand (MãoriAotearoa)

Georgian transcript: ახალი ზელანდია (მაორ. აოტეაროა „გრძელი, თეთრი ღრუბლის ქვეყანა“)

Capital: Wellington (უელინგტონი)

Largest city: Auckland (ოკლენდი)

Continent: Oceania

Official languages: English, Mãori, NZ Sign Language

Religion: No religion (48.5%), Christianity (37%), Hinduism (2.6%), Islam (1.3%), Buddhism (1.1%)

Government: Unitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy

Independence: 7 May 1856 (from the UK)

Member of the Commonwealth of Nations: 1931

Population: 4 863 318 (2021)

Demonym: New Zealander, Kiwi (informal)

Currency: New Zealand dollar (NZD)

Driving side: left

Time zone: UTC +12:00 (NZST)

Date format: dd/mm/yyyyyyyy/mm/dd

Calling code: +64

Internet TLD: .nz

Website: New Zealand Government (Te Kāwanatanga o Aotearoa)

Neighbouring country: None


New Zealand world map