Nauru flag waving


Country: Republic of Nauru (NauruanRepubrikin Naoero)

Georgian transcript: ნაურუ

Capital city (de facto): Yaren (იარენი)

Largest city: Denigomodu (დენიგომოდუ)

Continent: Oceania

Official languages: Nauruan, English

Religion: Nauru Congregational Church (35.71%), Roman Catholic Christianity (32.96%), World Assemblies of God Fellowship (12.98%), Baptism (1.48%)

Motto: God's will first

Government: Unitary parliamentary constitutional republic

Independence: 31 January 1968 (from the UK, Australia, and New Zealand)

Member of the Commonwealth of Nations: 1968 (joined as a special member; full member since 1999)

Population: 10 876 (2021)

Demonym: Nauruan

Currency: Australian dollar (AUD)

Driving side: left

Time zone: UTC +12:00

Calling code: +674

Internet TLD: .nr

Website: Government of Nauru

Neighbouring countries: None


Nauru world map



In 2009, Nauru recognised the independence of two regions of Georgia – Abkhazia and the Tskhinvali Region (also known as Samachablo, and recently publicised as South Ossetia) – by signing agreements on establishing diplomatic relations with them.

Nauru established diplomatic relations with the breakaway Republic of Abkhazia on 15 December 2009. The relevant agreement was signed by the foreign ministers of both sides in Sokhumi city.

On 16 December 2009, diplomatic relations were also established between Nauru and the disputed South Ossetia Region.

These two de facto states in the South Caucasus are recognised by most countries (excluding Russia, Syria, Nicaragua, Venezuela, Nauru) as part of Georgia.