Micronesia flag


Country: Federated States of Micronesia

Capital: Palikir

Continent: Oceania

Official languages: American English (in a legal context), Micronesian Pidgin (in other formal contexts)

National languages: Chuukese, Kosraean, Pohnpeian, Yapese

Religion: Christianity (Catholicism, Protestantism)

Motto: Peace, Unity, Liberty

Government: Federated Presidential republic under non-partisan democracy

Population: 104 937 (2016)

Demonym: Micronesian

Currency: United States dollar (USD)

Drives on the right

Time zone: UTC +10:00 and +11:00

Calling code: +691

Internet TLD: .fm

Neighbouring countries: None


Micronesia on the Globe


Federated States of Micronesia (also known simply as Micronesia) is an independent sovereign island nation and the United States associated state consisting of four states, from west to east – Yap, Chuuk, Pohnpei, and Kosrae – that are spread across the Western Pacific Ocean. Together, the states comprise around 607 islands that cover a longitudinal distance of almost 2,700 km just north of the equator.


Treble clef heart

'Patriots of Micronesia', also known as 'Across all Micronesia', is the national anthem of the Federated States of Micronesia. It was adopted in 1991, replacing 'Preamble', the anthem in use since independence in 1979. The melody of the current anthem is that of the German student song "Ich hab' mich ergeben" (which was also one of the unofficial anthems of West Germany between 1949 and 1952). The lyrics of Micronesian anthem are also loosely based on a translation of "Ich hab' mich ergeben".