Malaysia flag waving


Country: Malaysia (formerly Malaya)

Georgian transcript: მალაიზია

Capital and largest city: Kuala Lumpur (კუალა-ლუმპური)

Continent: Asia

Official language and national language: Malay

Recognised language: English

Religion: Islam (61.3%), Buddhism (19.8%), Christianity (9.2%), Hinduism (6.3%), Chinese folk religion (1.3%)

Motto: Bersekutu Bertambah Mutu (in Malay: Unity is strength)

Government: Federal parliamentary constitutional elective monarchy

Independence: 31 August 1957 (from the UK)

Member of the Commonwealth of Nations: 1957

Population: 32 803 944 (2021)

Demonym: Malaysian

Currency: Ringgit (MYR)

Driving side: left

Time zone: UTC +8:00 (MST)

Date format: dd/mm/yyyy

Calling code: +60

Internet TLD: .my

Website: Government of Malaysia

Neighbouring countries: Indonesia, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam


Malaysia world map