Guyana flag waving


Country: Co-operative Republic of Guyana

Georgian transcript: გაიანა

Capital and largest city: Georgetown (ჯორჯტაუნი)

Continent: South America

Official language: English

Recognised regional languages: 10 indigenous languages (Akawaio, Arawak (Lokono), Carib, Macushi, Mawayana, Patamona, Pemon (Arekuna), Waiwai, Wapishana, Warrau)

Vernacular language: Guyanese Creole

Other languages: Guyanese Hindustani, Portuguese, Spanish, Chinese, Dutch, French

Religion: Christianity (63%), Hinduism (24.8%), Islam (6.8%)

Motto: One people, one nation, one destiny

Government: Unitary presidential constitutional republic

Independence: 26 May 1966 (from the UK)

Member of the Commonwealth of Nations: 1966

Population: 790 576 (2021)

Demonym: Guyanese

Currency: Guyanese dollar (GYD)

Driving side: left

Time zone: UTC -4:00 (CST)

Calling code: +592

Internet TLD: .gy

Website: Government Portal of Guyana

Neighbouring country: Brazil, Suriname, Venezuela


Guyana world map