Ghana flag waving


Country: Republic of Ghana

Georgian transcript: განა

Capital and largest city: Accra (აკრა)

Continent: Africa

Official language: English

Recognised national languages: Asante Twi, Akuapem Twi, Bono Twi, Ahanta, Dagaare, Dagbani, Dangme, Ewe, Fante, Ga, Gonja, Kasem, Mampruli, Nzema, Wasa, Talensi, Bassare, Frafra, Kusaal, Hausa, Ghanaian Sign Language

Religion: Christianity (68.8%), Islam (15.9%), Traditional faiths (8.5%), None (6.1%)

Motto: Freedom and Justice

Government: Unitary presidential constitutional republic

Independence: 6 March 1957 (from Britain)

Member of the Commonwealth of Nations: 1957

Population: 31 777 204 (2021)

Demonym: Ghanaian

Currency: Ghanaian cedi (GHS)

Driving side: right

Time zone: UTC (GMT)

Calling code: +233

Internet TLD: .gh

Website: Government of Ghana

Neighbouring countries: Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Togo


Ghana world map