Dominican Republic



Dominican Republic flag waving


Country: Dominican Republic (Spanish: República Dominicana)

Georgian transcript: დომინიკელთა რესპუბლიკა

Capital and largest city: Santo Domingo (სანტო-დომინგო)

Continent: Central America

Official language: Spanish

Religion: Roman Catholic Christianity (47.8%), Protestantism (21.3%)

Motto: Dios, Patria, Libertad (in Spanish: God, Homeland, Freedom)

Government: Unitary presidential republic

Independence: 27 February 1848 (from Haiti)

Population: 10 960 903 (2021)

Demonym: Dominican, Quisqueyan (colloquial)

Currency: Peso (DOP)

Driving side: right

Time zone: UTC -4:00 (Standard Time Caribbean)

Calling code: +1-809, +1-829, +1-849

Internet TLD: .do

Website: Government of Dominican Republic

Neighbouring countries: Haiti


Dominican Republic world map