Cyprus flag waving


Country: Republic of Cyprus (Greek: Κυπριακή Δημοκρατία; Turkish: Kıbrıs Cumhuriyeti)

Georgian transcript: კვიპროსი („სპილენძი“)

Capital and largest city: Nicosia (ნიქოზია)

Continent: Asia

Official languages: Greek, Turkish

Minority languages: Armenian, Cypriot Arabic, Russian

Religion: Orthodox Christianity (89.1%)

Government: Unitary presidential constitutional republic

Independence: 1 October 1960 (from the UK)

Member of the Commonwealth of Nations: 1961

Population: 1 216 159 (2021)

Demonym: Cypriot

Currency: Euro (EUR)

Driving side: left

Time zone: UTC +2:00 (EET)

Calling code: +357

Internet TLD: .cy

Website: Web Portal of the Republic of Cyprus

Neighbouring countries: None


Cyprus world map