Costa Rica



Costa Rica flag waving


Country: Republic of Costa Rica (Spanish: República de Costa Rica)

Georgian transcript: კოსტა-რიკა („მდიდარი ნაპირი“)

Capital and largest city: San José (სან-ხოსე)

Continent: Central America

Official language: Spanish

Recognised regional languages: Mekatelyu, Bribri, Patois

Religion: Roman Catholic Christianity (52%), Protestantism (25%)

Government: Unitary presidential constitutional republic

Independence: 15 September 1821 (from Spain)

Population: 5 142 102 (2021)

Demonym: Costa Rican, Tico/Tica

Currency: Costa Rican colón (CRC)

Driving side: right

Time zone: UTC -5:00 (COT)

Calling code: +506

Internet TLD: .cr and

Website: Gobierno del Bicentenario

Neighbouring countries: Nicaragua, Panama


Costa Rica world map