Brunei flag waving


Country: Nation of Brunei, the Abode of Peace (Rumi script: Negara Brunei Darussalam)

Georgian transcript: ბრუნეი

Capital and largest city: Bandar Seri Begawan (ბანდარ-სერი-ბეგავანი)

Continent: Asia

Official language: Malay

Recognised language: English (official documents are bilingual: Malay and English)

Official scripts: Malay alphabet, Jawi alphabet

Religion: Sunni Islam (78.8%), Christianity (8.7%), Buddhism (7.8%)

Motto: Sentiasa membuat kebajikan degan petunjuk Allah (in Arabic: Always in service with God's guidance)

Government: Unitary Islamic absolute monarchy

Independence: 1 January 1984 (from the UK)

Independence Day: 23 February

Member of the Commonwealth of Nations: 1984

Population: 441 807 (2021)

Demonym: Bruneian

Currency: Brunei dollar (BND)

Driving side: left

Time zone: UTC +8:00 (Brunei Darussalam Time)

Calling code: +673

Internet TLD: .bn

Website: Brunei Darussalam (Prime Minister's Office)

Neighbouring country: Malaysia


Brunei world map