Maka Jokhadze

Maka Jokhadze resides in Tbilisi, Georgia.

Georgian author, scriptwriter, and playwright. A PhD in Philology holder.

Born on 10th April 1948, in Tbilisi.

In 1971 she graduated from Department of Journalism at Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University, and School of Music No2.

In 1969 she published her first story and since then her works have been published in Georgia and other countries. 

In 1986 she made a speech during the Georgian Culture Days dedicated to Rabindranath Tagore Jubilee. The text of her speech was translated in Bangalore language and published.

In 1987 she was awarded the prize of Georgian Writers’ Union for her book «The Gorges of Agitated Sleep».

In 1989 Maka Jokhadze was invited to Paris on the World Conference of Female Writers organized by the Georges Pompidou Centre.

Twice, in 2012 and 2103 she was a board member of the literature competition Alliteration and Free Fall organized by Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University.



  • Guram-Guram, Tbilisi: Publishing House «Merani», 1976 (short of stories)
  • Saved Landscape, Tbilisi: Publishing House «Merani», 1984 (short stories)
  • Meeting, Tbilisi: Publishing House «Nakaduli», 1985 (short of stories)
  • The Gorges of Agitated Sleep, 1987 (publicist essays)
  • Shifting of the Glance, Tbilisi: Publishing House «Merani», 1988 (articles and essays)
  • My David Kldiashvili, Tbilisi: Publishing House «Gulani», 1995 (monograph)
  • Eternal Circus, Tbilisi: Publishing House «Merani», 1997 (novel)
  • Victory Over Fear (1999) (essays)
  • Paradise Without Love, Tbilisi: Publishing House «Intellect» (2010) (critical essays and literary portraits)
  • My David Kldiashvili, 2nd edition, Tbilisi: Publishing House «Gulani», 2012
  • Pebbles Thrown into the Dead Pond (2013) (novel)
  • The Sunken Celebration (2013) (diary entries and notes)
  • Pine-Trees in the Desert (2017) (short stories)



  • Two Lives (1986)
  • Solo Exhibition
  • The Theatre of Desperate People



  • My Spirit Belongs to God (Documentary, film director – Zurab Shanidze, 1991)